Reality is One

Editor’s Note:  This is the second in a series of posts based on the longer essay, One Life Divine.  Unlike the original essay, these individual installments are illustrated.  They are as follows:

  1. Escape To Reality
  2. Reality is One
  3. Reality is Intelligent
  4. The Manifold Appearance of Reality
  5. A Body You Have Prepared For Me
  6. Hidden In Plain Sight
  7. Jesus Is Calling…
  8. Reconciled To God


Reality is One. 
In Christian terms,  God is One–the source of all things and, as such, supremely worthy of our love. 

Hear, O Israel: The LORD our God is one LORD:  And you shall love the LORD your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your might (Deuteronomy 6:4-5 KJ 2000).

“I am the Lord, and there is no other; besides me there is no god.  I arm you, though you do not know me,  so that they may know, from the rising of the sun and from the west, that there is no one besides me; I am the Lord, and there is no other.  I form light and create darkness, I make weal and create woe; I the Lord do all these things.  Shower, O heavens, from above, and let the skies rain down righteousness; let the earth open, that salvation may spring up, and let it cause righteousness to sprout up also; I the Lord have created it” (Isaiah 45:5-8).

One of the scribes came near and . . . asked him, “Which commandment is the first of all?”  Jesus answered, “The first is, “Hear, O Israel: the Lord our God, the Lord is one;  you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind, and with all your strength’ (Mark 12:28-30; cf. Deuteronomy 6:4-5).

Not only does Jesus acknowledge God to be One– and to be supremely worthy of our love –he refers to God very intimately as his Father.   Moreover, he refers to himself as being the only point of access to the Father, with whom, he goes to say, he is One:

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life.  No one comes to the Father except through me.  If you know me, you will know my Father also.  From now on you do know him and have seen him.”  Philip said to him, “Lord, show us the Father, and we will be satisfied.”  Jesus said to him, “Have I been with you all this time, Philip, and you still do not know me? Whoever has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, “Show us the Father’?  Do you not believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me? (John 14:6-10).

I and my Father are One (John 10:30)

Thus,

  • Reality is One, but can be conceived as the source of all that appears;
  • Reality is supremely worthy of our love;
  • and that which reveals Reality to us– our point of contact with Realityis, in fact, One with Reality. [More]

–>  Reality is Intelligent

One God the Father...

This entry was posted in Yeshua. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

