The Boy in the Bubble

The Universal BubbleI Am the field of my awareness.

I Am, in some sense, both the field and all the contents thereof.

But all that appears seems especially connected to this “body/mind” that also appears within the field of awareness that I Am.

Insofar as I identify with this body/mind known as “John” or “Jane Doe”, I can (attempt to) resist that which appears or I can (determine to) submit, a priori, to all that appears.  Following St. Paul, I may “present my body a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable unto God which is my reasonable service” (Romans 12:1).

God?  From whence does the concept of God come into the picture?

What Is Awareness?I meet you (and other sentient beings) in this field of awareness that I Am.  And while I have no immediate access to your experience of your body/mind, I must assume that you, too, exist within a similar field of awareness, since we are able to communicate about our experiences in this regard.  Indeed, since we communicate, it is difficult not to assume that the field of awareness in which YOU live and move and have YOUR being is the same field of awareness in which I live and move and have my being.  Even if much of the content appears to be very different, the field of awareness is One.  Indeed, if we communicate, there is a God–God IS! *

I Am that field of awareness and yet it is greater than me.  You are that field of awareness and yet it greater than you.  As it is written, “in Him we live and move and have our being  . . . we are God’s offspring” (Acts 17:28,29); and “we are members one of another”  (Ephesians 4:24-25).  As such, the two greatest commandments make perfect sense:

1. Love God with all your heart, soul, mind and strength.
2. Love your neighbor as your self.

For the carnal mind (aka the egoic mind ) this is impossible.  But we have the mind of Christ (I Corinthians 2:16).  And we are One in the Spirit:

“As you, Father, are in me and I am in you, may they also be in us . . . The glory that you have given me I have given them, so that they may be one, as we are one, I in them and you in me, that they may become completely one” (John 17:21,22,23).

We are One in the LordChrist-like, we can say:

  • My Father is Greater than I (John 14:28).
  • I and my Father are One (John 10:30).
  • My neighbor is myself (cf. Mark 12:31).
    – We are members of one another (Ephesians 4:24-25).
    – What is done to the least of these is done unto me (Matthew 25:31-45).

In order to do this, however, we must “die before we die” which means to cease to identify merely with our body/mind (together with its “personality” and “autobiography”) and to begin to identify with— or, more precisely, begin simply to be —the entire field of our awareness and all the contents thereof.  In the process, we learn what it means to “take up our cross”—to die to self and to live in Christ.

Matthew 16:24 Then Jesus told his disciples, “If any want to become my followers, let them deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me. 25 For those who want to save their life will lose it, and those who lose their life for my sake will find it. 26 For what will it profit them if they gain the whole world but forfeit their life? Or what will they give in return for their life? . . . 28 Truly I tell you, there are some standing here who will not taste death before they see the Son of Man coming in his kingdom.”

“Then a teacher of the law came to him and said, ‘Teacher, I will follow you wherever you go.’ Jesus replied, ‘Foxes have holes and birds of the air have nests, but the Son of Man has no place to lay his head.’ ” (Matthew 8:19-20).

Matthew 24:26 “So if anyone tells you, ‘There he is, out in the desert,’ do not go out; or, ‘Here he is, in the inner rooms,’ do not believe it. 27 For as lightning that comes from the east is visible even in the west, so will be the coming of the Son of Man.”

[* Editor’s Note: The phrase, “if we communicate, there is a God” was seen on a coffee mug in 1990.  The original source is unknown. ]

See also:  –> A Spiritual Exercise

It was a hard thing to untie this knot...

This entry was posted in Yeshua. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Boy in the Bubble

  1. Eric Chaffee says:

    Oh, I do love the concept of a field, whether it be a “force field” passing thru a wire and energizing the space beyond the wire. (“Preposterous!” they said, when this was first hypothesized.) Or, when Jesus spoke of the field ready for harvest (e.g.: Luke 10:2ff), instructing us to pray the Lord of the harvest that he send labors into his harvest. (That perplexed me for months on end, as I was praying for this each day, obediently, but also with deep curiosity as to why the Lord needed our prayers.) Ha! A year later I noticed that the joke was on me, as he had sent me into his harvest field.

    ~eric.

    • yeshua21 says:

      And don’t forget the “unified field” where all things are gathered together in One:

      Ephesians 1:9 Having made known to us the mystery of his will, according to his good pleasure which he has purposed in himself: 10 That in the dispensation of the fullness of times he might gather together in one all things in Christ, both which are in heaven, and which are on earth; even in him… 🙂

  2. Fi__1968 says:

    This is a very helpful blog to me, thanks for taking the time to write it!

Leave a Reply

