Jesus Is Calling…

Editor’s Note:  This is the seventh in a series of posts based on the longer essay, One Life Divine.  Unlike the original essay, these individual installments are illustrated.  They are as follows:

  1. Escape To Reality
  2. Reality is One
  3. Reality is Intelligent
  4. The Manifold Appearance of Reality
  5. A Body You Have Prepared For Me
  6. Hidden In Plain Sight
  7. Jesus Is Calling…
  8. Reconciled To God

Jesus Is Calling…

“This is the gate of the Lord; the righteous shall enter through it. I thank you that you have answered me and have become my salvation. The stone that the builders rejected has become the chief cornerstone. This is the Lord’s doing; it is marvelous in our eyes. This is the day that the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it” (Psalms 118:20-24; cf. John 14:6-7).

Foolishly Lost in Thought...This narrow gate is the Conscious, Creative Reality in which we live and move and have our being This Reality– here & now –is the Way, the Truth and the Life that is available to all, but almost universally neglected.  Like the prodigal son in the parable, we have left our Father’s house and are foolishly lost in thought.  But Jesus calls to us as follows:

“Come to me, all you that are weary and are carrying heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me; for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light” (Matthew 11:28-30).

I Am with you always...Simply notice the aware presence or alert stillness that you are (prior to and in between each thought that arises–in the silence between each breath you breathe; in the stillness between each heartbeat).  Consider, in this light, Jesus’ admonition in Matthew 6 to “take no thought”:

  • Take no thought for your life… (v.26 KJ 2000)
  • Which of you by taking thought can add one cubit unto his stature? (v.27)
  • And why take you thought for clothing? (v.28)
  • Therefore take no thought, saying, What shall we eat? or, What shall we drink? or How shall we be clothed? . . . your heavenly Father knows that you have need of all these things. But seek you first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you. (vs.31,32,33)
  • Take therefore no thought for tomorrow: for tomorrow shall take thought of the things for itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof. (v.34)

For those who respond to his call and heed his admonition, he prays:

“As you, Father, are in me and I am in you, may they also be in us . . . The glory that you have given me I have given them, so that they may be one, as we are one, I in them and you in me, that they may become completely one” (John 17:21,22,23).

Turn Toward the LightWith just a bit of reflection, it soon becomes clear that our sense of separation, along with our idea of a past that must be justified (or redeemed) and a future that must be secured is indeed, a shadowy illusion.  If and when we have had enough of this prodigal adventure, we are always free to turn toward the light and leave the shadows behind us.  We need not fear that we are unworthy–the Father is always alert for our safe return and always pleased to welcome us home (cf. Luke 15:11-24); the light of the world is always on for us–as is obvious to anyone who has the presence of mind to look for his appearing.

–> Reconciled To God

This entry was posted in Yeshua. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jesus Is Calling…

  1. Yeshua, you write …

    “With just a bit of reflection, it soon becomes clear that our sense of separation, along with our idea of a past that must be justified (or redeemed) and a future that must be secured is indeed, a shadowy illusion.”

    I have a hard time with this. Reflection and meditation for the believer can be an exercise that seeks to leave guilt behind, for we are forgiven.

    But … was and is it all merely an illusion? I am pretty sure that I did those things, committed those acts, had those hostile thoughts. And reflection and meditation on God and God’s all-encompassing love is comforting and can still my rambunctious brain and allow me to grow closer to God and dwell in the Divine Presence.

    I prefer the path of repentance …. I attempt to turn away from that which separates me from God …. from that for which I have been forgiven and from which I have been redeemed. And, God’s love is always there before, during, and after. Amen.

    Love, Max

    • yeshua21 says:

      [” Reflection and meditation for the believer can be an exercise that seeks to leave guilt behind, for we are forgiven.”]

      By definition, the believer “trusts in” and “relies on” the presence of God (“I Am”). As such, “old things are past away, behold all things have become new and all things are of God.” As indicated elsewhere, there may well be a period– even an extended period –of oscillation between the carnal/egoic mind and the mind of Christ, but insofar as we abide in the latter, “we shall not come into condemnation, but have passed from death unto life.” If we find ourselves inordinately preoccupied with the shadows of our past– or hankering to make our escape into an imaginary future –all that is necessary, is to “confess” and “repent” [i.e. to recognize this lapse and (re)turn to that which IS; to be present with that which is present].

      [“But … was and is it all merely an illusion? I am pretty sure that I did those things, committed those acts, had those hostile thoughts.”]

      I’m pretty sure you are dead and your life is hid with Christ in God. The person who did those things– or imagines that he did –is the one who is put to death, in the flesh, even as he is made alive in the Spirit. Have you read C.S. Lewis’ “The Great Divorce”? What kind of reality can we attribute to the lives of the ghosts? They must repent, to be sure, but that happens precisely when (and to the degree that) they turn toward the light and leave the shadows behind them. The reality that preoccupies their mind is no reality at all.

      But I agree, God’s love is always there– always the same –yesterday, today, and forever!

  2. You are so correct, sir. I just gotta get over that dog and vomit thing (see Prov. 26:11). Once when talking with a pastor I complained that the old carnal unsaved version of me kept “coming back like a zombie.” He smiled, looked at me and said … “You just have to keep on killin’ him with Jesus’ help. He’ll eventually creep away and leave you alone.” Amen, and amen!

Leave a Reply

