A Good Friday Meditation

Are we willing to acknowledge that the cross of Christ is our cross, too?

Are we not called to:

  • come and dietake up our cross? (Matthew 16:24)
  • drink that cup and be baptized with that baptism? (Mark 10:38; Matthew 20:22; John 18:11)
  • present our bodies a living sacrifice? (Romans 12:1)
  • give up our own priorities and submit to God’s will for our life? (Philippians 3:7-9; cf Luke 22:42).

Jesus says,

“Those who try to make their life secure will lose it, but those who lose their life will keep it” (Luke 17:33).

And Paul writes,

“I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me” (Galatians 2:20).

As such, are we really honoring the passion of Christ– indeed, can we truly celebrate “the resurrection and the life” on Easter –if we do not also accept with thanksgiving his suffering and death in our own bodies?

–>  The Cross (Frithjof Schuon)

galatians 2 - 20 crucified with christ

This entry was posted in Yeshua and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A Good Friday Meditation

  1. Colin Fox says:

    First class !

Leave a comment