That We May Know Him…

Be Still and Know that I Am GodWe don’t really begin to know Jesus intimately until we are able to simply feel the “I Am” presence in the stillness of the present moment – in the space between the out-breath and in-breath, for example, or in the silence between each heartbeat. “Be still and know that I Am God” (Psalms 46:10).

Let those who doubt come and see! Come and see the one who told me everything I ever did! (John 4:29). Let those who are tempted to belittle or underestimate the profundity of this simple spiritual exercise consider the story of Naaman, in the Old Testament, who was healed of his leprosy as follows:

Elisha sent a messenger to say to him, “Go, wash yourself seven times in the Jordan, and your flesh will be restored and you will be cleansed.” But Naaman went away angry and said, “I thought that he would surely come out to me and stand and call on the name of the Lord his God, wave his hand over the spot and cure me of my leprosy. Are not Abana and Pharpar, the rivers of Damascus, better than any of the waters ofIsrael? Couldn’t I wash in them and be cleansed?” So he turned and went off in a rage. Naaman’s servants went to him and said, “My father, if the prophet had told you to do some great thing, would you not have done it? How much more, then, when he tells you, ‘Wash and be cleansed’!” So he went down and dipped himself in the Jordan seven times, as the man of God had told him, and his flesh was restored and became clean like that of a young boy (II Kings 5:10-15).

Likewise – if you would have life and have it more abundantly (John 10:10) – don’t turn away in a huff, but simply and humbly immerse yourself in the “I Am” presence which is Christ-in-you—the hope of glory! But don’t stop at 7 times – or even 70 x 7 – but learn to abide in Him and continue in his Word (John 15:4, 8:31). So doing, you will learn what it means to pray without ceasing and will become a vessel . . . fit for the master’s use, and prepared unto every good work (cf. I Thessalonians 5:17; II Timothy 2:21).

–> Getting to Know Jesus

This entry was posted in Yeshua. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

